How Do I Become A Master Gardener?

Do you have an interest in volunteering and improving lives in your community through plants and gardening?

Would you enjoy working alongside talented, passionate EMG volunteers and knowledgeable, dedicated county Extension agents?

Do you have the desire to share the joy of plants and horticulture with others?

Do you want to teach and share with others more about nature and their environment?

Follow 5 Simple Steps to Becoming a Certified Master Gardener!


  1. Check the table below to determine if your county or one nearby has an Extension Master Gardener program. We don’t have one in every county, but almost everywhere in TN is within a reasonable drive of an EMG program.
  2. Contact the local EMG agent coordinator to get all the details about local trainings and requirements. Keep in mind that trainings are locally hosted, so the county coordinators have all the details!
  3. Attend the Extension Master Gardener intern training put on by your local county EMG group.
  4. Volunteer and serve in your community, represent UT Extension, and report your 40 hours of service to become certified.
  5. Re-certify the next year!

Counties with EMG programEMG Agent CoordinatorContact Email for Local Agent CoordinatorIntern Training Notes for 2022
AndersonSeth Whitehousewhitehouse@utk.eduSpring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
Bledsoe (contact Sequatchie)Sheldon Barkersdbarker@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
BlountJohn Wilsonjawilson@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
BradleyEvangelon Jamesejames24@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
Carter (contact Sullivan)Chris Ramseycwramsey@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
CheathamSierra Knaussaham@utk.edu
CoffeeAnna Duncanaduncan@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
CumberlandGregg Upchurchgupchurch@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
DavidsonAmy Dunlap Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
DyerWilliam Taylorwtaylor@tnstate.edu Spring Training
FayetteJeff Viajvia@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
FentressJohn Gunterjgunter4@utk.edu
Franklin (contact Coffee)Anna Duncanaduncan@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
GilesDarby Payne-Alldaydpayne11@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
GreeneMelody Rosemteague@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
HamblenMannie Bedwellebedwell@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
HamiltonHaley Treadway Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
HardemanLee Sammonslsammons@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
HawkinsJack Pricejprice58@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
HenryRanson Goodmanrgoodma1@utk.edu
KnoxRylan Thompsoncthomp55@tnstate.edu Spring Training (Jan-Apr)
LauderdaleRachel Howellrparker1@utk.edu Spring Training
LawrenceLaine McGeelaijmcge@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
MadisonCeleste Luckey Scottcscott52@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
MarionMatthew Deistmdeist@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
MauryRoger Clarkrogwclar@utk.edu Spring Training
MontgomeryKarla Garguskkean@utk.edu
ObionBob Shumakershumak2@utk.edu
PutnamWayne Keyjkey3@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
RheaChasity Phillipscphillips@utk.edu
RoaneJessica Smithjwilki21@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
RobertsonJeff Smithjsmilth49@utk.edu
ScottSean Tormoehlanstormoeh@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
SequatchieSheldon Barkersdbarker@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
SevierMatthew Andersonmande125@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
ShelbyChris Coopercmcooper@utk.edu Spring Training (Jan-Apr)
SullivanChris Ramseycwramsey@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
SumnerEryn Bellebell@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
TiptonSyd Croffordsydlcrof@utk.edu
Unicoi (contact Sullivan)Chris Ramsey cwramsey@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
WarrenHeath Nokeshnokes@utk.edu
Washington (contact Sullivan or Greene)Chris Ramsey or Melody Rosecwramsey@utk.edu or mteague@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
WayneMegan Harrismdharris@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
WilliamsonTaylor Reedertreeder2@utk.edu Spring Collaborative Training (Feb-Apr)
WilsonLucas Holmanlhomlan1@utk.eduSpring Training
Educational Session Putnam County Master Gardeners
Educational Session – Putnam County
Expand content up
Class Project Plant Team Rutherford County
Class Project – Rutherford County
Expand content up
Youth Education Around Town Shelby County
Youth Education – Shelby County
Expand content up

Some of the plants in the early 19th century flower garden at The Hermitage, the home of president Andrew Jackson, are the originals from Jackson’s era.

The Hermitage in Nashville, Tennessee